Speech of Definition: Typography

Self-Evaluation

I thought that my speech of definition went well. Yet again, I think I should have shortened it, but I do think that my visuals were much better this time. I felt very comfortable giving it, since it was a topic I knew a lot about. I think I would have liked to maybe give some better non-examples (or at least make them clearer) and tightened up some of the final examples. My primary goal of the next speech will be to keep it within the time limits set for the assignments.

Goal of the Speech

As a speech of definition, the primary goal was to educate about Typography. I feel I was able to very clearly state what the topic was, and I think that people learned a lot more about it. I think I could have done a better job though if I’d have focused more on real world examples, and gave fewer “fun facts.” They’re neat, but not necessarily helpful or memorable.

Purpose Statement

So in the rest of my time, I would like to give some examples of power of typography, so that you can better understand the effect it has on your every day life.

Resources

Video – Speech of Definition


 

Note: This video is unlisted and can only be viewed through this direct link.


Slides

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Link to Outline

Outline – Speech of Definition (Full Text Attached)


 

Thanks,

Dan M.

Leave a comment